News Menu

MSU News

iNews Publisher 2.5
Foundation names Michael Collins as Piper Professor
Printer Friendly ... Export to MS Word Document ... Export to plain text document ...
Filed under Public Information on Tuesday, May 06, 2008 by Author: Public Information.




            Midwestern State University Regents’ Professor Michael Collins was given the honor of being named a Piper Professor on May 1. The award is given annually by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation to 15 State of Texas professors for superior teaching at the college level.

The award was established in 1958.

            Nominations are accepted from any accredited institution of higher learning in the state. A selection committee seeks the well-rounded, outgoing teacher, devoted to the profession, who has made special impact on his students and the community.

            The award includes a certificate of merit, a gold pin and an honorarium of $5,000.

            Collins earned his Bachelor of Arts, Master of Arts, and Ph.D. from Texas Christian University. His major fields of study include United States History of the American West, Texas and the Southwest, Native American Studies, Twentieth Century United States, U. S. Diplomatic, American Intellectual, and Public History.

            He taught at Texas Woman’s University for five years before coming to Midwestern State in 1985. In addition to being a faculty member, he served as Director of the Division of Humanities, 1992-1999, Chair of the Graduate Council, 2001-2002, and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, 1999-2004.

            Collins’ most recent book was published in 2005, “Tales of Texoma: Episodes in the History of the Red River Border.”  In addition, “Texas Devils: Rangers and Regulars on the Lower Rio Grande, 1846-1861,” is currently in press. He has also authored numerous articles and essays.

            He was named Hardin Professor in 2006, Regents’ Professor in 2005, and Fellow of Texas State Historical Association in 2005. He has also received honors from students, including Faculty Member of the Year in 1991 and 1995, Alpha Chi Lecturer, and Mortar Board Professor of the Year.

            His professional associations include the Western History Association, Texas State Historical Association, Southwestern Historical Association, West Texas Historical Association, and Southwestern Social Science Association where he served as President in 2006.

            Other Midwestern professors to receive the Piper Professor Award include Dr. Jean Autret, 1961; Dr. Joseph Satin, 1967; Dr. Harry M. Brown, 1981;  Dr. Arthur F. Beyer, 1987; and Dr. Emily LaBeff, 1992.



Related Articles
There are no related articles.

Developed by